Antenna Trends

Prospective Experts:

  • Prof. Ratnajit Bhattacharjee, IITG
  • Dr. Satyajit Chakraborty, SAMEER

1 st 4 th July 2019

Download Brochure

Program Schedule

Apply Online

Local Coordinator:
Prof Aparajita Ojha
Phone: 9425800334

Course contents:
Antenna Fundamentals and Basic Antenna Configurations: Radiation from short current element; Basic antenna parameters: radiation pattern, directivity, gains radiation resistance; radiation from small loop; linear antennas; monopole antennas; radiation from planar apertures; waveguide and horn antennas
Simulation experiments on: Dipole and loop antenna; Radiated fields from aperture antenna.

Planar Antennas: Basic microstrip antenna elements: different feeding techniques; transmission line and cavity models; broadband, multiband and compact microstrip antenna elements; PIFA (planar inverted F antenna)
Simulation experiments on: Rectangular and circular microstrip antenna elements, multiband planar antennas, PIFA

Antenna Arrays and Beamforming: Introduction to antenna arrays, principles of pattern multiplication; uniform one dimensional array: broadside and end-fire arrays; Binomial and Chebyshev arrays; Fixed beamforming networks, switched beam antennas, Adaptive arrays and smart antennas.
Simulation experiments on: uniform one dimensional arrays, switched beam and adaptive antennas

Reflector antennas for radar and satellite communication: Paraboloidal reflector antennas: axisymmetric and offset, different efficiencies, calculation of radiated field; low cross-polarization feed; High gain dual reflector cassegrain antennas, Examples from radar and satellite communication application.
Simulation experiments on: Paraboloidal axisymmetric and offset reflector antenna

Emerging trends in antenna technologies: Flexible and Wearable antennas; Implantable antennas; Antennas for 5G, UWB and Terahertz.

Registration Fee and Accommodation:
Faculty and Research Scholars (PhD): Nil and free accommodation on sharing basis.
Others:Rs 3000 and extra nominal charges for accommodation and food.

Core Team Members, E&ICT Academy:

Prof Aparajita Ojha

Prof. Vijay Kumar Gupta

Prof. P.N. Kondekar

Dr. Atul Gupta

Dr. Prashant Kumar Jain


Contact us :
Prof Aparajita Ojha : +9425800334, 0761-2794221
Electronics and ICT Academy
PDPM Indian Institute of Information Technology,
Design and Manufacturing, Jabalpur,
Dumna Airport Road, Jabalpur 482005