Students Gymkhana

Students' Gymkhana

Students’ Gymkhana is constituted to evolve a disciplined self-governance for carrying out various extracurricular in-campus activities and to establish a responsible and accountable student body. Students’ Gymkhana is governed by Student Senate which is constituted in democratic way through elections among each discipline and batch of the students. Student Senate members are elected through direct ballot voting, every year in the first week of January. Every registered student of the Institute is by-default member of student gymkhana and would have right to vote. All members of the student gymkhana who have their CPI >= 6.5 will be eligible to make their candidature for the Student Senate.


The Students’ Senate has 2-3 representatives from each class. There are around 40 members in the Student Senate. Various gymkhana clubs that are part of Cultural, Sports and Technical, work under Students gymkhana. Club coordinators and co-coordinators will be selected based on their skill and past performance in the Institute by the members of that club and duly ratified by the Student Senate. All members of the student gymkhana who have their CPI>= 6.0 are eligible to become mentors, coordinators, co-coordinators for various clubs.

Student gymkhana is headed by Dean, Students, who is nominated by Board of Governor of the Institute for three years. Dean (Students) chairs all the meetings of the Student Senate and guides student representatives in organizing gymkhana activities throughout the year. Apart from this, three faculty members designated as Sports, Cultural and Technical Counsellors, look after sports, cultural and technical activities respectively and respective major festivals organized by the students’ gymkhana.

Name Designation Contact
Dr. Prashant K. Jain Dean Students dean.s@iiitdmj.ac.in
Mr. Shekhar Chatterjee Cultural Counsellor chatterjees@iiitdmj.ac.in
Dr. Harpreet Singh Associate Cultural Counselor hps.dme@iiitdmj.ac.in
Dr. Kusum Kumari Bharti Associate Cultural Counselor kusum@iiitdmj.ac.in
Dr. Nihar Kumar Mahato Sports Counsellor nihar@iiitdmj.ac.in
Dr. Dip Prakash Samajdar Associate Sports Counsellor dip.samajdar@iiitdmj.ac.in
Dr. Yashpal Singh Katharria Science & Technology Counsellor yashpalk@iiitdmj.ac.in
Dr. Atul Kumar Associate Science & Technology Counsellor atul.kumar@iiitdmj.ac.in
© IIITDM JABALPUR 2017 - All rights reserved. | Web Team